Governance / Board of Trustees


Rangiora High School is governed by a Board of Trustees. The members of our Board of Trustees are:


Board Members:

Blake Benny (Student Trustee)

Wayne Bonnett

Ian Fong (Chairperson)

Simon Green (Deputy Chair) 

Leigh Kennedy

David Newsham-West (Staff Trustee)

Ben Prain

Karen Stewart (Principal)


Board Secretary:

Kevin Roche


We ask that all direct communication to the Board of Trustees is emailed to the Board's Secretary, Kevin Roche, at


The Board of Trustees is the Crown entity responsible for the governance of the school. As such, the Board is the employer of all staff, is responsible for setting the school's strategic direction, and for ensuring that the school provides a safe environment and quality education for all its students.


The key role of the Board is to ensure that every student is able to attain his or her highest possible standard of educational achievement. 


The Board is entrusted to work on behalf of all stakeholders and is accountable for the school’s performance. It emphasises strategic leadership, sets the vision for the school (in consultation with parents, staff and students), and ensures that the school complies with legal and policy requirements.


The Board takes a proactive approach to strategic decision-making. It does not involve itself in the administrative details of the day-to-day running of the school.


The Board focuses on asking the right questions. Enhancing student achievement is its focus.


In 2019, the full Board will meet at 7.00pm in the Administration building on these dates:


Wednesday 20 February 2019

Wednesday 27 March 2019 

Wednesday 22 May 2019

Wednesday 26 June 2019 

Wednesday 14 August 2019 

Wednesday 18 September 2019 

Wednesday 6 November 2019 

Thursday    12 December 2019 


Board of Trustees Committees


In addition the Board of Trustees has four Committees that report to it as follows:


Finance and Property Committee Members:

Wayne Bonnett, Ben Prain, Ian Fong, (BOT Chairperson, ex-officio), Karen Stewart, (Principal, ex-officio).


Finance and Property Committee Terms of Reference 


ARTE (Achievement, Retention, Transition & Engagement) and Curriculum Committee Members:

Blake Benny (Student Trustee), Simon Green, Ian Fong, (BOT Chairperson, ex-officio), Leigh Kennedy, David Newsham-West (Staff Trustee), Karen Stewart, (Principal, ex-officio)


ARTE Curriculum Terms of Reference 


Review Committee Members:

Leigh Kennedy, Ian Fong, (BOT Chairperson, ex officio),  David Newsham West, (Staff Trustee) and Karen Stewart, (Principal, ex officio),

Review Cttee Terms of Reference 


Suspensions Committee Members:

Ian Fong (Chair), Blake Benny (Student Trustee), Wayne Bonnett, Simon Green, Leigh Kennedy, and Ben Prain (i.e. all members of the Board, excluding the Principal and Staff Trustee). The Chair of the committee is Simon Green  (or in the Chair’s absence is as determined by the Committee).


Suspensions Cttee Terms of Reference



Konstruk Content Management System