The Rangiora High School Board of Trustees consists of six parent representatives, one student representative, one staff representative and the Principal. 


The role of the Board of Trustees includes governing the school, and setting its direction. This includes the curriculum, staff, property, health and safety, finance and administration. The long term goals and targets for the school are set in a Charter, which the Board monitors and reports annually on progress towards. It also includes developing the special character of the school.


Following the recent elections, membership of the BOT consists of:

  • Ian Fong - Chair
  • Staff Representative - Gillian Koster
  • Student Representative - Abigail de Visser
  • Principal - Karen Stewart

Parent Representatives:

  • Wayne Bonnett
  • Ian Fong
  • Simon Green
  • Leigh Kennedy
  • Ben Prain
  • Louise Courtney (co-opted member)


Meeting dates for 2019 are as follows: (meetings commence at 7.00pm)

Wednesday 20 February 2019

Wednesday 27 March 2019

Wednesday 22 May 2019

Wednesday 26 June 2019

Wednesday 14 August 2019

Wednesday 18 September 2019

Wednesday 6 November 2019

Thursday 12 December 2019


Meeting are open to the public and are held in the Strachan Room, Level 2 of the Administration Building. A part of the meeting is held with the public excluded.


Copies of the public open meetings are posted to the school website 


If you are intending to attend a meeting it is suggested that you contact the BOT Secretary Kevin Roche (03 311 8888 ext 2220, or email rck@rangiorahigh.school.nz) to ensure access.


School Charter

The Education Act 1989 requires every school to have a Charter. This document must include the following:

  • The schools Vision and Values
  • A strategic section that outlines for the next 3 -5 years the School’s goals
  • An annually up-dated section that sets out the School’s priorities and sets targets for key activities and achievement of objectives i.e. annual targets)
  • The annual targets must set out our objectives and priorities relating to raising student achievements, and set targets for the key activities and achievements for the year.


A copy of the current Rangiora High School  Charter is  here: Charter 



The School has a number of Policies covering its operations which can be found here: Policies


Annual Report

The school as a publically funded entity is required to produce an annual report that covers:

  • The Schools annual financial statements.
  • A discussion of the progress the school has made towards the planned goals and targets for student achievement as set out in the annually updated part of its Charter.


The annual report must be sent to the MoE by 31 May of each year.

 Annual Report 2018


Analysis of Variance

The analysis of variance is a statement in which the Board provides an evaluation of progress it has made in achieving the aims and targets set out in its Charter. It shows parents, whānau and the community the actions taken to achieve its aims and targets and how successful these actions have been for improving student achievement.

The analysis of variance also provides a basis for planning for the following year.

A copy of the analysis of variance is also included in the Annual Report.


Board of Trustees Committees

In addition, the Board of Trustees has four Committees that report to it as follows:


Finance and Property Committee


Wayne Bonnett, Chair, Ian Fong, (BOT Chairperson, ex officio), Ben Prain, Karen Stewart (Principal, ex officio)


Terms of Reference

The terms of reference for the Finance and Property Committee are here:TOR Finance Cttee


ARTE (Achievement Retention Transition & Engagement) and Curriculum Committee  



Ian Fong, (BOT Chairperson, ex officio), Karen Stewart, (Principal, ex officio), Simon Green, Leigh Kennedy, Abigail de Visser (Student Trustee) Gillian Koster (Staff Trustee)


Terms of Reference

The terms of reference for the ARTE and Curriculum Committee are found here:TOR ARTE Cttee 


Review Committee


Ian Fong (BOT Chairperson, ex officio), Karen Stewart (Principal, ex officio), Leigh Kennedy and Gillian Koster, (Staff Trustee)


Terms of Reference

The terms of reference for the Review Committee are found here:TOR Review Cttee 


Suspensions Committee


Ian Fong, Leigh Kennedy, Ben Prain, Wayne Bonnett, Abigail de Visser (Student Trustee) and Simon Green, Gillian Koster.  All members of the Board excluding the Principal. The Chair of the Committee is the Board Chair, or in the Chair’s absence, will be determined by the Committee.


Terms of Reference

The terms of reference for the Suspensions Committee are found hereTOR Suspensions Cttee


Christchurch Website Design