Rangiora High School, Rangiora High Website, Rangiora High School North Canterbury New Zealand

Rangiora High School

Governance and Board of Trustees


The Rangiora High School Board of Trustees consists of five parent (elected) representatives, one student representative, one staff representative, the Principal and currently one co-opted member. 


The role of the Board of Trustees includes governing the school, and setting its direction.

This includes: the curriculum, staff, property, health and safety, finance and administration. The long term goals and targets for the school are set out in a Charter, which the Board monitors and reports annually on progress towards. It also includes developing the special character of the school.


The membership of the BOT consists of:


  • Chair - Simon Green
  • Staff Representative - Gillian Koster
  • Student Representative - Hannah Lord
  • Principal - Karen Stewart

Parent Elected Representatives:


  • Wayne Bonnett
  • Ben Prain
  • Andrew Hodgkinson
  • Darryn Ward
Meeting dates for 2021  (meetings commence at 6.00pm)

Wednesday 3 March

Wednesday 31 March 

Wednesday 26 May 

Wednesday 30 June

Wednesday 18 August

Wednesday 22 September

Wednesday 10 November

Wednesday 15 December


Meetings are open to the public and are held in the Strachan Room, Level 2 of the Administration Building. A part of the meeting is normally held with the public excluded.


Copies of the public open meetings minutes are posted to the school website 


If you are intending to attend a meeting it is suggested that you contact the BOT Secretary; email BOT@rangiorahigh.school.nz, to ensure access.


School Charter

The Education Act 1989 requires every school to have a Charter. This document must include the following:


  • The schools Vision and Values
  • A strategic section that outlines the School’s goals for the next 3 -5 years 
  • An annually up-dated section that sets out the School’s priorities and sets targets for key activities and achievement of objectives i.e. annual targets)
  • The annual targets must set out our objectives and priorities relating to raising student achievements, and set targets for the key activities and achievements for the year.


A copy of the current Rangiora High School  Charter is  here: Charter



The School has a number of Policies covering its operations which can be found here: Policies


Annual Report

The school as a publically funded entity is required to produce an annual report that covers:


  • The Schools annual financial statements.
  • A discussion of the progress the school has made towards the planned goals and targets for student achievement as set out in the annually updated part of its Charter.


The annual report must be sent to the MoE by 31 May of each year.  Final Annual Report 2020 


Analysis of Variance

The analysis of variance is a statement in which the Board provides an evaluation of progress it has made in achieving the aims and targets set out in its Charter. It shows parents, whānau and the community the actions taken to achieve its aims and targets and how successful these actions have been for improving student achievement.


The analysis of variance also provides a basis for planning for the following year. 2020 Analysis of Variance


Board of Trustees Committees

In addition, the Board of Trustees has five Committees that report to it as follows:


Finance and Property Committee


Wayne Bonnett (Chair), Simon Green, (BOT Chairperson, ex officio), Ben Prain, Darryn Ward, Karen Stewart (Principal, ex officio) and David Lowe, (Business Manager). 


Terms of Reference

The terms of reference for the Finance and Property Committee are here: TOR Finance Cttee


ARTE (Achievement Retention Transition & Engagement) and Curriculum Committee  


Simon Green, (BOT Chairperson, ex officio), Karen Stewart, (Principal, ex officio), Hannah Lord (Student Trustee) and Gillian Koster (Staff Trustee)


Terms of Reference

The terms of reference for the ARTE and Curriculum Committee are found here: TOF ARTE Cttee


Review Committee


Simon Green (BOT Chairperson, ex officio), Andrew Hodgkinson,  Darryn Ward and Karen Stewart (Principal, ex officio),


Terms of Reference

The terms of reference for the Review Committee are found here: TOR Review Cttee 


Suspensions Committee


(All members of the Board excluding the Principal). The Chair of the Committee is the Board Chair, or in the Chair’s absence, will be determined by the Committee.


Terms of Reference

The terms of reference for the Suspensions Committee are found here: TOR Suspensions Cttee


Personnel Committee


Andrew Hodgkinson (Chair), Simon Green (BOT Chairperson, ex officio), Ben Prain, Gillian Koster, (Staff Trustee) Wayne Bonnett, Karen Stewart (Principal, ex officio) and Hannah Lord (Student Trustee) 


Terms of Reference 

The terms of reference for the Personnel Committee are found here:TOR Personnel Cttee 


T: +64 3 311 8888

F: +64 3 313 8005


East Belt

Rangiora 7400

New Zealand

Website development marketing agency